A little bit of spiritual field research

With our pastor on vacation it’s a Latin rite day at our Maronite spiritual haven.  So I whipped out my grandmother’s mantilla, and we took our show on the road to continue my research into the pre-Vatican II experience!  I have been to an   Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite, low daily Dialogue Mass at St. Peter’s at the tomb of St. Pius X, but this was the first time for me in the U.S.  Thank goodness for Brian!  He led me instinctively through a ritual that I could not hear and struggled to follow.  He was only a kid, at the time, but he said it was like his brain opened a vault and accessed a file from 1961. 

I have a lot of thoughts to process, and have garnered some perspective.  I can see why My mother used to say ” We don’t need a Vatican III. We need a much better implementation of Vatican II and see where we are.”

And then we had Mexican food at Zama and some balloons 😉 

   

One thought on “A little bit of spiritual field research

  1. I love your unquenchable thirst for knowledge. Both spiritual and historical! I kinda love your partner in crime too, hehehe

Leave a Reply

