A small kindness – packed in love

My mother passed away very suddenly this past Sunday evening…

That afternoon, my aunt, and my husband and I had been touring nursing homes because the chronic illness she was suffering from was progressing beyond the abilities of the facility she was living in. We found the perfect place- safe, great staff, comfortable and aesthetically pleasing with spiritual offering and activities and PT even if there was no long 

Four hours later, we receive word that she has suffered cardiac arrest and was dead.  It was a shock not that it could happen, but that as focused as we were on the next step of movement to a place here on earth, God had another plan, a better plan, the perfect place with Him. 

When I stopped at the local Trader Joe’s and told the cashier that I had better stock up on their unique and interesting greeting cards, because I had a use for them. We discussed my mother’s passing and his mother’s in similar circumstances.  We talked of allowing those we love to be cared for by God – ultimately loving them enough to let them go Home.  But it’s not easy and it can make you weary.  Physically and mentally and my soul eagerly awaits the memorial Mass.

He smiled at me and asked me to wait a minute, walked off and when he came back he offered me a bouquet of flowers from Trader Joe’s with their condolences. 

 I hugged him twice so taken by his thoughtfulness and love.  So much love packed into that one small gesture, brief moment.

That afternoon I was so weary  I thought I would fade, and not rise, then that man offered a word and a gesture and the power of God’s love for another human being bound me up to move to the next task, renewed! 

If you have the opportunity to offer that miracle to someone look for it, embrace it, offer it, because it could do so much 


2 thoughts on “A small kindness – packed in love

  1. I’m so sorry for the loss of your mom prayers to you and your family for healing. I have my wonderful memories of her and I teaching together at St pius she was such a great teacher when she was reading to the kids I found myself also listening

Leave a Reply

