Truly “Risen”

God will use any medium to teach us/help us, if we listen.  The movie “Risen” is fast becoming one of my favorites, and as I reflect on it I hear new messages of consolation, hope and faith.  

Recently I was afraid of a life situation of which I have no control and it could be devastating.  I was constantly allowing myself to be stressed and anxiety ridden. 


There are at least two scenes in the film when people are struggling with something and Jesus, who is portrayed so lovingly says “Tell me, what are you afraid of?”  And they do and they are freed from their fear.  It struck a chord with me at the time and came freshly to my mind in prayer.    


Isn’t that the truth of it? what He is asking of us when we struggle with issues in life. “Tell me…” So I told Him.

I felt Him say, “I have that, be at peace.”  It was like awakening to a beautiful day 🙂  


Every time that fear creeps back into my mind, I stop and remember – He has it, and I do the next thing He gives me to do. 

Because I cannot help but be a catechist, it is through the acceptance of the gift of the Holy Spirit we received at Baptism and affirmed in Confirmation that,  we may know Him. Ask for the gifts of the Holy Spirit to increase in you every day.

May you realize that His grace and love are far stronger than your fears and may God’s Peace that is beyond all understanding be with you.  May your heart release it’s burdens this day. 

2 thoughts on “Truly “Risen”

Leave a Reply

