Ash Wednesday – begins 40 days to die to self

From the Office of Readings for Ash Wednesday there was so much that touched my soul it was hard to pick but here were a couple.

Ant. 1 Bless the Lord, my soul; never forget all he has done for you.

Psalm 103
Praise for God’s tender compassion
In the tender compassion of our God, the dawn from on high shall break upon us (see Luke 1:78).

I

My soul, give thanks to the Lord,
all my being, bless his holy name.
My soul, give thanks to the Lord
and never forget all his blessings.

It is he who forgives all your guilt,
who heals every one of your ills,
who redeems your life from the grave,
who crowns you with love and compassion,
who fills your life with good things,
renewing your youth like an eagle’s.

RESPONSORY Isaiah 58:6, 7, 9; Matthew 25:31, 34, 35

The Lord says:
The kind of fast that pleases me is sharing your food with the hungry and sheltering the poor and homeless.
– Do this and I will listen to your prayers; when you call on me I will say: I am here.

When the Son of Man comes in glory, he will say to those on his right:
Come, inherit the kingdom, for I was hungry and you gave me food.
– Do this and I will listen to your prayers; when you call on me I will say: I am here.

And one thought in particular – Those who trust in The Lord know happiness. I have found this to be true and one of the deepest comments to reflect upon.

Blessed Lent!

Leave a Reply

