One Sassy Saint!

Today is the Feast Day of one of my favorite newly discovered saints, Teresa of Avila.   I love her quotes, she is brilliant and feisty!   She is the patron saint of headache suffering, and Spanish Catholic Writers.  She was independent at a time when it was not just not done, but put down violently.  She is one of the first females recognized as a Doctor of the Church.  Her life and writings have taught me so much about our relationship with God, my relationship with God.  From her writings she seems so personable, like I could just pick up the phone and call her, “St. Teresa, hey! I’m finishing…yeah I know still finishing your Interior Castle and I have a few questions…Coffee tomorrow, great!”  

The biggest thing I’ve learned from her is that saints aren’t moldy oldies, we couldn’t ever connect with.  They were people just like you and me, in the sense of facing day-to-day and sometimes life altering struggles.  They come from all cultural and ethnic backgrounds, socioeconomic walks of life.  I am enchanted with them. 

What we all need to develop is their shared open hearts to learn.  To learn to leave our will behind and fully open up to God’s Will in our lives each day.  They got it right, some right off the bat as young people and some it took a while longer.  And the good news here is so can we.

Leave a Reply

