“Mary conceived without sin…”

When things get tough I go to the rosary.   Sometimes I don’t even get a chance to pray it, I just kiss its crucifix and hold it.  Which can sound like something superstitious, but I don’t feel that way.  It’s comforting to me.  I remember many times of saying a rosary, with my mother, in community or gently falling asleep.  I have dozens of rosaries all of which are connected to a story or significant person in my life.  They remind me of other’s journey in Faith.   Mary’s  devotion to God in all she did has always been something that I admired.  But now with what we’re going through, she is my model of humble obedience and surrender. 

And while I’m on the subject…This phrase entered my head a few months ago. “Mary. conceived without sin,  pray for us who have recourse to thee.”  Then when we made our first trip to Boston and I was packing my jewelry bag,  I rediscovered in my jewelery case an antique family medal my grandmother gave me and have been caring with me and now drawn to wearing it more and more as we are pulled more deeply into this event.  It’s a lovely silver piece encrusted with rhinestones with a while ceramic center with small pink roses and the Lady in the center.  But I didn’t remember which apparition she represented.    And a few minutes ago  I happened upon the novena.  It  just feels right.

Leave a Reply

