My Dad was always saying things like…

“There’s no would’ve, could’ve, should’ve.  You make your best decision at the time you can,

 with all the information available to you at the time and you don’t look back.  You deal with what is.”

I so miss that man, especially at Christmas.  I can’t believe it’s been almost six years since he passed away.    But when I face difficult situations, like those that have been happening far too often lately, inevitably in my head, I hear his voice, sharing that trademark no nonsense approach to life.  

“Suck it up and move on. 

 Life’s short and then you die. 

Do the best with what you have.

Life’s not about how you make it, but about how you take it. “

He also said some things I can’t repeat here, but they were true too ;   ) 

When you love someone they never really are lost to you,  the part of them that’s a part of you is still there and when you’re out far enough from the intense pain of it, the memories can make them feel not so far away. 

Least ways,  that’s how I feel about it, I’m just say’n.

4 thoughts on “My Dad was always saying things like…

  1. It is harder at this time. It’s 15 for Dad and 2 for Mom and Paul. Wolf’s gathering at Tom’s to share. It seems like yesterday.Blubber blubber and lots of smiles. {{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}

Leave a Reply

